Governor General and Viceroys in India

The origin of the post of Governor-General in India can be traced back to the period of British colonial rule in the Indian subcontinent.

The British East India Company, a trading company that had established its presence in India during the early 17th century, gradually extended its influence and control over various regions in the country. As the Company’s territories expanded, it required a centralized administrative authority to oversee its vast dominions in India.

  • In 1773, the British Parliament passed the Regulating Act, which marked a significant step in the formalization of British control over the Company’s affairs in India. The Act created the position of Governor-General of Bengal, Warren Hastings being the first to hold this office. The Governor-General was appointed to exercise control over the Presidency of Bengal and have authority over other Presidencies like Bombay and Madras.
  • Subsequently, in 1784, the British Parliament passed the Pitt’s India Act, which reorganized the administration of the Company’s territories in India. It abolished the position of Governor-General of Bengal and established a new office titled “Governor-General of India.” This Act expanded the Governor-General’s jurisdiction to encompass the entire British-controlled territories in India.
  • The Governor-General of India, also known as the Viceroy of India, became the highest-ranking official representing the British Crown in India. The Viceroy acted as the head of the British administration, and all other Governors of Presidencies were made subordinate to the Governor-General. The Viceroy was vested with extensive powers, including legislative, executive, and financial authority, to govern British India on behalf of the British monarch.
  • Throughout British colonial rule, the post of Governor-General remained pivotal in overseeing India’s governance and implementing British policies. The Governor-General’s role evolved over time, and various individuals held this prestigious position, leaving a significant impact on India’s history and shaping the country’s trajectory under British rule.

List of Governor-General and Viceroys in India and their key contributions

Governor-General Tenure Contributions
Warren Hastings 1773 – 1785 – Introduced administrative and judicial reforms.

– Expanded British territories in India through wars and diplomacy.

Lord Cornwallis 1786 – 1793 – Implemented the Permanent Settlement, a revenue system in Bengal.

– Introduced the Cornwallis Code to reform Indian legal and administrative systems.

Lord Wellesley 1798 – 1805 – Implemented the Subsidiary Alliance system to extend British control over Indian princely states.

– Expanded British territories through various wars.

Lord William Bentinck 1828 – 1835 – Abolished the practice of Sati.

– Introduced English education and modern administrative reforms.

Lord Dalhousie 1848 – 1856 – Introduced the Doctrine of Lapse, annexing states without a male heir to British territories.

– Constructed railways and telegraph lines, modernizing communication in India.

– Wood’s Despatch 1854

Lord Canning 1856 – 1862 – Faced the Indian Rebellion of 1857 (Sepoy Mutiny) and introduced reforms after its suppression.

– The Indian High Courts Act 1861 established High Courts in Calcutta, Bombay, and Madras.

Lord Mayo 1869 – 1872 – Established the Department of Agriculture and Commerce in India.

– Improved education and initiated the Statistical Survey of India.

Lord Lytton 1876 – 1880 – Held the Delhi Durbar in 1877 to proclaim Queen Victoria as Empress of India.

– Implemented the Vernacular Press Act, restricting the freedom of the Indian press.

Lord Ripon 1880 – 1884 – Introduced the local self-government system (known as Ripon’s Resolution).

– Advocated for financial decentralization and lowered land revenue assessments.

Lord Dufferin 1884 – 1888 – Initiated the First Factory Act in India, addressing labor conditions.

– Expanded irrigation and railways in India.

– Formation of INC 1885

Lord Lansdowne 1888 – 1894 – Established the Indian Police Commission to reform the police system.

– Introduced the Indian Councils Act 1892, increasing the size of legislative councils.

Lord Elgin 1894 – 1899 – Initiated various educational and industrial reforms.

– Improved India’s financial position and introduced a gold standard.

Lord Curzon 1899 – 1905 – Partitioned Bengal in 1905, which led to significant protests (Swadeshi Movement).

– Established the Archaeological Survey of India and modernized the postal system.

– Indian Universities Act (1904).

Lord Minto 1905 – 1910 – Faced widespread protests against the Partition of Bengal.

– Passed the Morley-Minto Reforms, introducing limited electoral representation for Indians.

– Surat split of Congress

Lord Hardinge 1910 – 1916 – Reorganized the Indian Army and Indian Railways.

– Supported the World War I effort, contributing Indian troops.

Lord Chelmsford 1916 – 1921 – Convened the Montagu-Chelmsford Reforms, aiming for more Indian participation in governance.

– The Rowlatt act

– Witnessed the Jallianwala Bagh massacre in 1919.

Lord Reading 1921 – 1926 – Worked on labor and factory reforms.

– Kakori train robbery (1925)

-Withdrawal of Non-Cooperation Movement (1922)

Lord Irwin 1926 – 1931 – Signed the Gandhi-Irwin Pact, ending the Civil Disobedience Movement temporarily.

– Held the First Round Table Conference on Indian constitutional reforms.

Lord Willingdon 1931 – 1936 – Faced the Second Round Table Conference

– Government of India Act 1935

– Poona Pact and Communal Award

Lord Linlithgow 1936 – 1943 – Oversaw British India’s involvement in World War II.

– Faced the Quit India Movement in 1942.

– August Offer and Cripps Mission

Lord Wavell 1943 – 1947 – Attempted to form a coalition government during World War II.

– Cabinet Mission and Shimla Conference

Lord Mountbatten 1947-1948
  • June Third Plan (1947)
  • Redcliff commission (1947)
  • India’s Independence (15 August 1947)


Leave a Reply