List of Current Chief Ministers In India 2023 State-Wise

The position of Chief Minister in India is a crucial and central role in the state’s administration. The Chief Minister is a member of either the lower or upper house of the State Legislature and is appointed by the State’s Governor. 

The process of selecting a Chief Minister does not have strict guidelines, but it is typically someone from the party that holds the majority in the state legislature. 

According to Article 167, the Chief Minister is responsible for providing information concerning the state’s affairs and legislative proposals as requested by the Governor.

In the Republic of India, the Chief Minister holds the position of the head of government in each of the twenty-eight states and three of the eight union territories. As per the Constitution of India, the governor is the de jure head at the state level, but the de facto executive authority is vested in the Chief Minister. After state legislative assembly elections, the governor typically invites the party or coalition with a majority of seats to form the state government. The Chief Minister is then appointed by the governor, and their council of ministers collectively answer to the assembly.

In most cases, except for Tamil Nadu’s M. K. Stalin, other Chief Ministers also serve as the leader of the house in their respective State Assemblies, provided they have the assembly’s confidence. The Chief Minister’s term usually lasts for a maximum of five years, and there are no restrictions on the number of terms they can serve.

Roles and Responsibilities of Chief Ministers

The position of Chief Minister in India is an important role in the government structure of the country. A Chief Minister is the elected head of the state government in each of India’s 28 states and 8 Union Territories (UTs) with a Legislative Assembly. The Chief Minister is responsible for leading the state’s executive branch and implementing government policies within the state’s jurisdiction.

Key roles and responsibilities of a Chief Minister in India include:

  1. Head of the State Government: The Chief Minister is the head of the state government and exercises executive authority over the state’s administration.
  2. Chief Executive: As the chief executive of the state, the Chief Minister oversees the day-to-day governance and administration of the state.
  3. Forming the Government: After the state legislative elections, the political party or coalition with the majority in the Legislative Assembly is invited by the Governor (the constitutional head of the state) to form the government. The leader of that party or coalition becomes the Chief Minister.
  4. Council of Ministers: The Chief Minister appoints various ministers to form the Council of Ministers who are responsible for various portfolios in the state administration.
  5. Policy Implementation: The Chief Minister is responsible for implementing government policies and decisions in the state.
  6. Legislative Responsibilities: The Chief Minister, along with the Council of Ministers, proposes bills and policies in the Legislative Assembly, and their passage is crucial for the state’s governance.
  7. State Development: The Chief Minister plays a significant role in driving the economic and social development of the state by initiating various developmental projects and schemes.
  8. Inter-State Relations: The Chief Minister represents the state in interactions with the Central Government and other states.
  9. Crisis Management: During times of emergencies or natural disasters, the Chief Minister takes the lead in managing the crisis and coordinating relief and rescue operations.

List Of Current Chief Ministers In India 2023 State-Wise

State Chief Minister
Andhra Pradesh Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Arunachal Pradesh Shri Pema Khandu
Assam Shri Himanta Biswa Sarma
Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar
Chhattisgarh Shri Bhupesh Baghel
Delhi (NCT) Shri Arvind Kejriwal
Goa Shri Pramod Sawant
Gujarat Shri Bhupendra Patel
Haryana Shri Manohar Lal
Himachal Pradesh Shri Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu
Jharkhand Shri Hemant Soren
Karnataka Shri Siddaramaiah
Kerala Shri Pinarayi Vijayan
Madhya Pradesh Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan
Maharashtra Shri Eknath Shinde
Manipur Shri N. Biren Singh
Meghalaya Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma
Mizoram Shri Pu Zoramthanga
Nagaland Shri Neiphiu Rio
Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik
Puducherry (UT) Shri N. Rangaswamy
Punjab Shri Bhagwant Singh Mann
Rajasthan Shri Ashok Gehlot
Sikkim Shri PS Golay
Tamil Nadu Shri M. K. Stalin
Telangana Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao
Tripura Dr. Manik Saha
Uttar Pradesh Shri Yogi Aditya Nath
Uttarakhand Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami
West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee

Constitutional Articles related to Chief Minister

Article 163 – The governor is to be advised by the Council of ministers headed by the Chief Minister

Article 164- Appointment of the Chief Minister by the governor.

Article 167– Chief Minister to acts as a link between the Governor and the state council of ministers.

Eligibility to become a CM

The Chief Ministerial Candidates must have the following qualifications to become eligible for the post.

  • They must be a citizen of India.
  • They must be above the age of 25 years.
  • They must be a member of the State Legislative Assembly (MLA). In case the person is not an MLA at the time of their appointment as Chief Minister of a State, they must become an MLA by contesting an election in their respective constituency within six months of appointment.

Some interesting facts related to Chief Ministers in India:

  • Arunachal Pradesh’s Prema Khandu is the youngest among the Current Chief Ministers in India as he was born on 21 August 1979.
  • C N Annadurai from Tamil Nadu was the first Chief Minister who died in office.
  • Sucheta Kriplani was the First Chief Minister in India who became Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 1963 and left office in 1967.
  • Currently, Mamta Banerjee is the only Female Chief Minister in India heading West Bengal since 2011.
  • Naveen Patnaik is the longest-serving Current Chief Minister in India since 5 March 2000 (for 22 years, 141 days).
  • The oldest Chief Minister among the Current Chief Ministers in India is Zoramthanga of Mizoram as he was born on 13th July 1944.
  • Nitish Kumar has served most terms (7 Terms)as the Chief Minister of Bihar among the Current Chief Ministers in India.
  • Sheila Dikshit is the only female Chief Minister who lead the government of any state for three consecutive terms in Independent India. Her tenure span from 1998 to 2013.
  • The only woman Chief Minister to have remained in office for a mere term of 23 days is Janaki Ramachandran of AIADMK.


Q. Who is the Current Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh?

Ans. The current chief minister of Uttar Pradesh is Shri Yogi Aditya Nath.

Q. Which Chief Minister had the shorted termed served ever?

Ans. The shortest term as a Chief Minister was served by Nadendla Bhaskara Rao.

Leave a Reply